France drop players for ‘inappropriate behaviour’ after Scotland defeat | Sport

• ‘They failed to respect their duty as international players,’ says FFR
• Police found no crime committed after report of sexual assault

The France players react after being beaten by Scotland 32-26 at Murrayfield.
Photograph: Robert Perry/EPA

Several players have been left out of the France squad to face Italy in their next Six Nations game after the French Rugby Federation said it had sanctioned those who went on a night out following Saturday’s defeat by Scotland.
“[The coach] Jacques Brunel has decided to exclude from that list the players who went out after the defeat in Scotland,” the FFR said in a statement. “With this inappropriate behaviour, they failed to respect their duty as international players.”

Alexandre Lapandry, Arthur Iturria, Sekou Macalou, Anthony Belleau, Felix Lambey, Jonathan Danty, Remi Lamerat, Louis Picamoles and Teddy Thomas – who scored two tries against Scotland – do not feature in the 32-man squad for the game on 23 February in Marseille. However, the FFR did not name the players sanctioned.
The French Rugby Federation said on Monday that some players had been interviewed by Scottish authorities. Police Scotland said on Monday that “following an initial report of sexual assault in Edinburgh city centre during the early hours of Monday 12 February, police conducted various lines of inquiry, including speaking to a number of potential witnesses. These inquiries have established that no crime has been committed.“
France lost their first two games, 15-13 at home to Ireland, and 32-26 to Scotland at Murrayfield last Saturday.
France squad to face Italy
Mathieu Babillot, Mathieu Bastareaud, Lionel Beauxis, Eddie Ben Arous, Hugo Bonneval, Yacouba Camara, Camille Chat, Henry Chavancy, Baptiste Couilloud, Geoffrey Doumayrou, Benjamin Fall, Gael Fickou, Paul Gabrillagues, Kelian Galletier, Cedate Gomes Sa, Remy Grosso, Guilhem Guirado, Wenceslas Lauret, Bernard Le Roux, Maxime Machenaud, Geoffrey Palis, Adrien Pelissie, Jefferson Poirot, Dany Priso, Baptiste Serin, Rabah Slimani, Romain Taofifenua, Marco Tauleigne, Francois Trinh-Duc, Sebatien Vahaamahina, Virimi Vakatawa.

Thanks for your visiting on this page , We hope this post can be a good reference for you and provide useful information for you :-).
This article is sourced from: